<!-- Source: https://weddingcompared.com/us/best-digital-wedding-invitations/ | Publisher: Wedding Compared | Facts checked: 2026-10-13 | Updated: 2026-10-14 -->

# The Best Digital Wedding Invitations with RSVP in 2026

> **Disclosure:** This comparison is published by the team behind Vow&Kin, one of the services reviewed. We score every service with the same published criteria and only credit features the provider documents publicly on its own website. Everything was checked on October 13, 2026 (Vow&Kin's prices on October 14, 2026), and every claim links to its source at the end of the article. Where a competitor is better for a particular couple, we say so.

**Our pick: Vow&Kin**, because it gives each household its own private link, shows each household only the events it is invited to, collects RSVPs per person with menu choices and allergies, and translates the invitation into 40+ languages, all for a one-time price with no subscription. US couples pay in dollars: $59 or $119, once, with no subscription. **If you want the lowest possible cost plus a registry, pick Joy**, which offers its website, RSVP and hundreds of digital invitations free. **If you want a classic animated envelope priced in dollars, pick Greenvelope.**

## How we scored

We scored each service from 0 to 10 on seven criteria and weighted them to a total out of 100. We only credited what the provider documents on its own site (pricing page, feature pages, help center) as of **October 13, 2026**. If a feature was not stated, we scored it as not offered and wrote "not stated." A service that works in English only gets 1 point for languages.

| # | Criterion | Weight | What earns points |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1 | Personal guest experience | 20 | A private link per household or guest, greeting by name, each household sees only the events it's invited to, no guest account or app needed |
| 2 | RSVP depth | 20 | Per-person and per-event answers, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, live dashboard, export |
| 3 | Multilingual and international families | 15 | Number of guest-facing languages, language per household, mixed-language and destination weddings |
| 4 | Price clarity and total cost | 15 | One-time vs. subscription vs. per-guest pricing; total cost for 100 guests, one wedding, 12 months; usefulness of the free tier; no surprise renewals |
| 5 | Design and opening experience | 10 | Design quality, animated opening or envelope, Save the Date in the same design |
| 6 | Privacy and data | 10 | Private or password-protected links, no ads shown to guests, stated data location, clear privacy terms |
| 7 | Planning extras | 10 | Save the Date, reminders, seating chart, guest list import/export, registry or gift fund, photo sharing |

These weights reflect what we think matters most once invitations go out: the right guests seeing the right details and the RSVP data being usable. If price is your only concern, criterion 4 alone points to the free services (Joy, Zola, The Knot).

## Scores at a glance

Each criterion is scored 0–10; the weighted total is out of 100.

| Service | Guest experience (20) | RSVP depth (20) | Languages (15) | Price & cost (15) | Design (10) | Privacy (10) | Extras (10) | **Total** |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Vow&Kin | 10 | 10 | 9 | 8 | 9 | 8 | 8 | **90.5** |
| Joy | 7 | 8 | 4 | 9 | 6 | 6 | 8 | **69.5** |
| Greenvelope | 6 | 7 | 1 | 7 | 8 | 7 | 5 | **58** |
| Zola | 3 | 7 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 5 | 8 | **51.5** |
| The Knot | 2 | 6 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 4 | 8 | **46.5** |
| Paperless Post | 4 | 5 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 6 | 4 | **45** |

Vow&Kin still loses points on price (the invitation itself needs a paid plan, even now that it charges in dollars): Joy scores higher there, and Zola and The Knot match it, because their core tools are free.

## The ranking

### 1. Vow&Kin — 90.5/100

**Best for:** multilingual families, multi-event weddings, and couples who want per-person RSVP data for the caterer.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** One-time per wedding, no subscription. Free (build, preview and publish a Save the Date), Signature $59 (publish the invitation, RSVP, custom questions, household links, CSV export), Complete $119 (different events per household, 40+ languages, kitchen summary of menu choices, reminder emails, seating chart), Concierge $349 (set up by the team). Published invitations stay online with no time limit for as long as Vow&Kin operates, and a published money-back guarantee gives a full refund of any plan within 14 days of purchase, no questions asked (policy as of Oct 14, 2026). Visitors in the US see prices in US dollars and are charged in dollars; a currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and pounds.

**What's good:**

- Each household gets its own unlisted link that opens addressed to them by name, in their language, showing only their invited events. Guests don't need an account or app.
- RSVP is collected per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs, plus-ones and your own questions. You mark each guest as adult, teen, child or infant, and a children's menu is shown only to children and infants. Exports cover RSVPs, seating and the kitchen.
- Signature publishes in two languages; Complete and Concierge in 40+.
- Nine designs with animated openings: a wax-sealed envelope (petal, classic or side fold), a silk ribbon that unties, and a glide into a painted opening scene. The Save the Date grows into the invitation in the same design.
- Guest data is stored in the EU (Ireland).

**What's missing:** No registry of its own (you add a registry link and gift message). Only nine designs, far fewer than the big US platforms. The free plan doesn't publish the invitation itself. Events per household, menu summaries, reminder emails and the seating chart need the $119 Complete plan. Text messages only go out where an approved sender is enabled.

**Website:** [vowandkin.com](https://vowandkin.com/en)

### 2. Joy (withjoy) — 69.5/100

**Best for:** couples who want everything free, including a registry and an app.

**Price (checked Oct 13, 2026):** Core plan $0: wedding website, registry, mobile app, unlimited guests, online RSVP and "hundreds of digital invites." Optional paid upgrades (custom domain, text messaging, premium designs) are offered, but prices are not stated on the pricing page.

**What's good:** Each guest sees a custom version of the site showing only the events they're invited to. Unlimited custom RSVP questions (meal choice, song requests), RSVPs for multiple events, plus-one limits per guest, groups and tags. Save the Dates, invitations, website and app share one design. Password protection for any page. Guests don't need an account to RSVP.

**What's missing:** Guests unlock their details by typing their name rather than through a private link. Multiple languages are possible, but you write each language version yourself and assign it by guest tag; Joy doesn't translate your content. Upgrade prices aren't published. Animated opening: not stated.

**Website:** [withjoy.com](https://withjoy.com/)

### 3. Greenvelope — 58/100

**Best for:** couples who want a classic animated envelope, dollar pricing and no ads.

**Price (checked Oct 13, 2026):** Flat one-time price by guest count, no subscription, from $19. Greenvelope's pricing guide lists **$99 for up to 100 guests**; annual memberships start at $60, and up to 150 guests per mailing costs $225/year. Free trial for up to 10 people. 500 text messages included with paid accounts.

**What's good:** Animated envelope opening and designer invitations. Each guest receives a personalized link. RSVP survey questions cover meal choices and sub-events; plus-ones are tracked; CSV or Excel export. Scheduled reminders to parts of your guest list. "Greenvelope shows no ads to you or to your guests," and it says it never sells your guest list.

**What's missing:** No wedding website or registry. Sub-events are a checkbox on one invitation, not separate per-household invitations. Languages: not stated. Data location: not stated.

**Website:** [greenvelope.com](https://www.greenvelope.com/)

### 4. Zola — 51.5/100

**Best for:** couples who want a free website and registry and plan to send paper invitations.

**Price (checked Oct 13, 2026):** Wedding website free; custom domain from $17.99. Digital Save the Dates are free. Printed invitations from $1.07 each with a discount code (as shown on the invitations page).

**What's good:** 600+ website templates, integrated registry, optional password protection. Help-center articles cover choosing who's invited to each event, meal-preference breakdowns, adding families and plus-ones, adult/child counts and guest list export. Free digital Save the Dates link to reply forms and your website.

**What's missing:** We could not find a digital wedding invitation product on Zola's own pages today, only digital Save the Dates and paper invitations. Private per-household links: not stated. Languages: not stated.

**Website:** [zola.com](https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/website)

### 5. The Knot — 46.5/100

**Best for:** couples who want a free guest list manager and matching paper stationery from a large wedding brand.

**Price (checked Oct 13, 2026):** Wedding website and guest list tools free; custom domain $19.99 for 1 year. Free digital save-the-dates. Paper save-the-dates from $0.99 each and invitations from $1.59 each.

**What's good:** RSVP page with events, custom questions (such as meal choices) and privacy preferences; guests can share dietary restrictions; quick RSVP reminders; export for vendors. 100+ website designs, most with coordinating invitations, save-the-dates and thank-you cards. Link any registry.

**What's missing:** No digital wedding invitation product found on The Knot's pages today. Per-household private links, greeting by name, and what the "privacy preferences" control: not stated. Languages: not stated.

**Website:** [theknot.com](https://www.theknot.com/gs/wedding-websites)

### 6. Paperless Post — 45/100

**Best for:** design-led invitations for small guest lists.

**Price (checked Oct 13, 2026):** Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. For 100 guests that's $50 (Basic), $105 (Premium) or $144 (All Access). Free covers the first 50 sends. Paperless Pro subscription: 250 guests for $250/year. Subscriptions are non-refundable.

**What's good:** Envelope, liner, backdrop and stamp on Premium. Send by email, text or link, track opens and RSVPs, message guests. Open-ended, multiple-choice and checkbox questions (dietary restrictions, mailing addresses). Ad-free for guests.

**What's missing:** Per-guest pricing adds up for large weddings. Meal-choice questions as a named feature and multi-event RSVP: not stated. No registry. Languages: not stated.

**Website:** [paperlesspost.com](https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing)

**Why Minted isn't ranked:** Minted offers free wedding websites with a $50 stationery credit and has launched free Online Invitations, but its online-invitation pages didn't list a wedding category or describe RSVP tools beyond "start collecting RSVPs" when we checked. Minted is a strong choice if artist-designed paper stationery matters most to you.

## Comparison table

| Feature (as documented Oct 13, 2026) | Vow&Kin | Joy | Greenvelope | Zola | The Knot | Paperless Post |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Digital wedding invitation | Yes (paid plans) | Yes, free | Yes | Not stated (Save the Date only) | Not stated (Save the Date only) | Yes |
| Private link per household/guest | Yes | No (name lookup) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Guests see only their events | Yes (Complete) | Yes | No (checkbox) | Event-specific invites | Not stated | Not stated |
| Meal choices | Yes (Signature+); kitchen summary on Complete | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Custom questions | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (Premium) |
| Guest-facing languages | 2 / 40+ | Self-written versions | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Price model | One-time (USD) | Free + upgrades | One-time by guest count | Free | Free | Per guest or yearly |
| Cost for 100 guests | $119 (Complete) | $0 | $99 | $0 | $0 | $0–$144 |
| Animated envelope | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Envelope + liner |
| No ads to guests (stated) | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| Registry | Link only | Yes | No | Yes | Link any registry | No |
| Seating chart | Yes (Complete) | Not stated | Mentioned in FAQ | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |

## Which one should you choose?

- **Your families speak different languages:** Vow&Kin Complete. Each household gets its own language on its own link. Joy works if you're willing to write each language version yourself.
- **Big guest list on a tight budget:** Joy, Zola or The Knot cost nothing for the core tools. Avoid per-guest pricing (Paperless Post) for 200+ guests.
- **You want a registry in the same place:** Joy or Zola. Vow&Kin and The Knot let you link a registry you keep elsewhere.
- **You want paper too:** Minted, The Knot or Zola, which pair websites with printed stationery. Greenvelope is digital-only.
- **Multi-day or multi-event wedding (welcome dinner, ceremony, brunch):** Vow&Kin Complete or Joy, both of which show each guest only their events. Zola also lets you choose who's invited to each event.

## FAQ

**Are digital wedding invitations acceptable for a formal wedding?** Many couples now send them, especially for destination weddings or guests abroad. If some older relatives expect paper, you can mail a few printed cards and send everyone else a link.

**Can I send digital wedding invitations for free?** Yes. Joy includes digital invitations, website and RSVP at no cost; Paperless Post covers your first 50 sends on its free tier. Zola and The Knot offer free digital Save the Dates and free websites with RSVP. Vow&Kin's free plan publishes a Save the Date, but the invitation itself needs a paid plan.

**How far in advance should I send a digital save the date?** Vow&Kin's guidance is about six to eight months ahead for a local wedding and nine to twelve months for a destination wedding or holiday weekend.

**Can guests RSVP without creating an account?** On Vow&Kin and Joy, yes: both say guests don't need an account (Vow&Kin also says no app). The other services we reviewed don't state a requirement either way.

**Does Vow&Kin charge in US dollars?** Yes. Visitors in the US see and pay prices in dollars: $59 (Signature), $119 (Complete) or $349 (Concierge), as a one-time payment per wedding with no subscription. A currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and pounds, and you're charged in the currency shown.

**Which service is best for meal choices and dietary needs?** Vow&Kin (Complete) collects menu choices and allergies per person and produces a kitchen summary. Joy, Zola, The Knot and Greenvelope also support meal-choice questions.

## Sources (checked October 13, 2026 unless noted)

- Vow&Kin pricing (USD prices and currency switch; checked October 14, 2026): https://vowandkin.com/en/pricing
- Vow&Kin features: https://vowandkin.com/en and https://vowandkin.com/en/how-it-works
- Vow&Kin Save the Date: https://vowandkin.com/en/save-the-date
- Vow&Kin designs: https://vowandkin.com/en/designs
- Vow&Kin RSVP and guest management (children and age groups): https://vowandkin.com/en/wedding-rsvp-guest-management
- Vow&Kin refund policy: https://vowandkin.com/refunds
- Vow&Kin terms (how long invitations stay online, data export): https://vowandkin.com/terms
- Joy pricing: https://withjoy.com/pricing
- Joy invitations: https://withjoy.com/wedding-invitations/
- Joy wedding website (events per guest, password, RSVP questions): https://withjoy.com/wedding-website/?l=en-CA
- Joy FAQ (plus-ones, password, event visibility): https://withjoy.com/faq/
- Joy multiple languages: https://withjoy.com/help/en/articles/16145121-setting-up-your-website-for-guests-in-multiple-languages
- Greenvelope pricing page: https://www.greenvelope.com/pricing
- Greenvelope pricing guide (tier prices, last updated Sept 22, 2026): https://www.greenvelope.com/resources/how-much-does-greenvelope-cost
- Greenvelope home and FAQ (ads, personalized links, export): https://www.greenvelope.com/ and https://www.greenvelope.com/faq
- Greenvelope RSVP questions and sub-events: https://support.greenvelope.com/hc/en-us/articles/43092437725463-How-to-Add-Custom-Questions-to-a-Wedding-RSVP-Meal-Choices-Song-Requests-and-Sub-Events
- Zola wedding website: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/website
- Zola event-specific invitations: https://www.zola.com/faq/360002575731
- Zola RSVP help topics: https://www.zola.com/faq/115000345711-guest-list/115000790951-rsvp
- Zola digital Save the Dates: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/digital/save-the-date/shop/modern?page=14
- Zola paper invitations: https://zola.com/wedding-planning/invitations
- The Knot wedding websites: https://www.theknot.com/gs/wedding-websites
- The Knot guest list and RSVP: https://www.theknot.com/our-guest-list
- The Knot digital save-the-dates: https://www.theknot.com/paper/product/signed-digital-save-the-date-cards
- The Knot stationery prices: https://www.theknot.com/content/can-we-have-wedding-invitations-online
- Paperless Post pricing: https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing
- Paperless Post features: https://www.paperlesspost.com/ and https://www.paperlesspost.com/wedding
- Minted wedding websites: https://www.minted.com/wedding-websites
- Minted Online Invitations: https://www.minted.com/online-invitations
