<!-- Source: https://weddingcompared.com/us/greenvelope-alternatives/ | Publisher: Wedding Compared | Facts checked: 2026-10-14 | Updated: 2026-10-14 -->

# Greenvelope alternatives for digital wedding invitations (2026)

> **Disclosure:** This comparison is published by the team behind Vow&Kin, one of the services reviewed. We score every service with the same published criteria and only credit features the provider documents publicly on its own website. Features were checked on October 13, 2026 and every price was re-checked on the provider's own site on October 14, 2026. Every claim links to its source at the end of the article. Where a competitor is better for a particular couple, we say so.

**Short answer:** Greenvelope is a solid choice if you want an animated envelope, a personalized link per guest and no ads, for a one-time price by guest count ($99 for up to 100 guests). Pick an alternative when you need what it doesn't document:

- **Separate events per household, per-person RSVPs and invitations in each family's language:** Vow&Kin ($119 one-time on Complete).
- **A free website, registry and invitations in one place:** Joy ($0 core plan).
- **A registry and website, with paper invitations:** Zola or The Knot.
- **A design-led envelope and liner for a small list:** Paperless Post (free for the first 50 sends).

## Why couples look beyond Greenvelope

On its own pages Greenvelope documents a personalized link per guest, RSVP survey questions for meal choices and sub-events, reminders, export and a no-ads statement. The gaps are:

- No wedding website or registry.
- Sub-events are a checkbox on one invitation, not separate invitations per household.
- Guest-facing languages and data location are not stated.
- Its pricing page lists tiers without dollar amounts today; the amounts are in a separate pricing guide.

## How we scored

Same seven criteria and same scores as our US comparison of digital wedding invitations: 0–10 per criterion, weighted to 100. Only features documented on the provider's own site count; the rest is "not stated".

| # | Criterion | Weight | What earns points |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1 | Personal guest experience | 20 | Private link per household or guest, greeting by name, only their events, no account or app |
| 2 | RSVP depth | 20 | Per person and per event, meals, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, export |
| 3 | Multilingual and international families | 15 | Guest-facing languages, language per household |
| 4 | Price clarity and total cost | 15 | Model, total for 100 guests, free tier, no surprise renewals |
| 5 | Design and opening experience | 10 | Design quality, animated opening or envelope, matching Save the Date |
| 6 | Privacy and data | 10 | Private or password links, no ads to guests, stated data location |
| 7 | Planning extras | 10 | Save the Date, reminders, seating, import/export, registry, photos |

## The alternatives, ranked

| Service | Guest experience (20) | RSVP (20) | Languages (15) | Price (15) | Design (10) | Privacy (10) | Extras (10) | Total |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Vow&Kin | 10 | 10 | 9 | 8 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 90.5 |
| Joy | 7 | 8 | 4 | 9 | 6 | 6 | 8 | 69.5 |
| *Greenvelope (reference)* | 6 | 7 | 1 | 7 | 8 | 7 | 5 | 58 |
| Zola | 3 | 7 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 5 | 8 | 51.5 |
| The Knot | 2 | 6 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 4 | 8 | 46.5 |
| Paperless Post | 4 | 5 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 6 | 4 | 45 |

Greenvelope scores higher than Paperless Post, The Knot and Zola on these criteria. If one of those three is your alternative, you are trading invitation features for a free website and registry, or for design.

### 1. Vow&Kin: 90.5/100

**Best for:** multi-event weddings, multilingual families and couples who need per-person meal data.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** One-time per wedding, no subscription: Free (build, preview and publish a Save the Date), Signature $59, Complete $119, Concierge $349 (set up by the team). Charged in dollars for US visitors.

**Versus Greenvelope:** each household gets its own unlisted link, and on Complete sees only the events it's invited to, instead of a sub-event checkbox. RSVPs are per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, children by age group and a kitchen summary. Invitations in 40+ languages on Complete (two on Signature). Nine designs with animated openings (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon, or a glide into a painted scene). Guest data stored in the EU (Ireland).

**Where Greenvelope is better:** a stated no-ads policy, 500 text messages included, and a cheaper tier for small lists ($59 for up to 60 guests vs $119 for Complete). Vow&Kin's free plan doesn't publish the invitation.

### 2. Joy: 69.5/100

**Best for:** couples who want invitations, website, registry and app for free.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** Core plan $0, including "hundreds of digital invites", online RSVP and a registry. Custom domain, text messaging and premium designs are paid upgrades; prices not stated.

**Versus Greenvelope:** adds a website, registry and app, and shows each guest only their events. Unlimited custom RSVP questions. **Missing:** guests find their invitation by name on the website; languages are versions you write yourself; animated envelope not stated.

### 3. Zola: 51.5/100

**Best for:** a free website and registry with paper invitations.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** Website free; custom domain from $17.99; free digital Save the Dates; paper invitations from $1.07 each on sale.

**Versus Greenvelope:** registry and 600+ templates. **Missing:** we found no digital wedding invitation product on Zola's pages; per-household links and languages not stated.

### 4. The Knot: 46.5/100

**Best for:** a free guest list manager with matching paper stationery.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** Website and guest list tools free; custom domain $19.99 for one year. Free digital save-the-dates.

**Versus Greenvelope:** RSVP page with events, custom questions, dietary restrictions and vendor export. **Missing:** no digital invitation product found; per-household links and languages not stated.

### 5. Paperless Post: 45/100

**Best for:** design-led cards for small guest lists.

**Price (checked Oct 14, 2026):** Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. 100 guests on Premium: $105. First 50 sends free on the free feature set. Pro: $250 a year for 250 guests.

**Versus Greenvelope:** envelope, liner, backdrop and stamp on Premium, ad-free for guests. **Missing:** cost rises with each guest; meal choices as a named feature, multi-event RSVP and languages not stated.

## Cost for 100 guests (checked Oct 14, 2026)

| Service | Price model | 100 guests, one wedding |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Joy | Free core, upgrades (prices not stated) | $0 |
| Zola | Free website (paper extra) | $0 |
| The Knot | Free website (paper extra) | $0 |
| Paperless Post | Per guest | $0–$144 |
| Greenvelope | One-time by guest count | $99 |
| Vow&Kin | One-time per wedding | $59 (Signature) or $119 (Complete) |

## Who should pick what

- **You like Greenvelope but need separate invitations for welcome dinner, ceremony and brunch:** Vow&Kin Complete.
- **You need a website and registry anyway:** Joy (free) or Zola. You can still link a Joy or Zola registry from a Vow&Kin invitation.
- **Guests from several countries:** Vow&Kin Complete; none of the others states guest-facing translation.
- **Small guest list, design first:** Paperless Post or Greenvelope itself.
- **You want to send by text:** Greenvelope includes 500 texts with paid accounts. Vow&Kin (from Signature) lets you share each household's personal link with a message by WhatsApp, Viber or text; Joy lists text messaging as a paid upgrade.

## FAQ

**How much does Greenvelope cost for a wedding?** Its pricing guide (updated September 22, 2026) lists one-time mailings from $19 (up to 20 guests) to $99 (up to 100) and $199 (up to 200). Annual memberships run from $60 to $755 a year. The pricing page itself did not show dollar amounts on October 14, 2026.

**Is there a free Greenvelope alternative?** Joy's core plan includes digital invitations and RSVP for $0. Paperless Post's free feature set covers the first 50 sends.

**Which alternative also has an animated envelope?** Vow&Kin (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon or painted-scene openings) and Paperless Post (envelope and liner). Joy, Zola and The Knot don't state one.

**Does any alternative include a registry?** Joy, Zola and The Knot. Vow&Kin and Greenvelope don't have one; Vow&Kin lets you add a registry link and gift message.

**Does Vow&Kin charge per guest?** No. The price is per wedding, one time: $59, $119 or $349.

## Sources (features checked October 13, 2026; prices October 14, 2026)

- Greenvelope pricing page: https://www.greenvelope.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Greenvelope pricing guide (last updated Sept 22, 2026): https://www.greenvelope.com/resources/how-much-does-greenvelope-cost (Oct 14, 2026)
- Greenvelope home and FAQ: https://www.greenvelope.com/, https://www.greenvelope.com/faq (Oct 13, 2026)
- Greenvelope RSVP questions and sub-events: https://support.greenvelope.com/hc/en-us/articles/43092437725463-How-to-Add-Custom-Questions-to-a-Wedding-RSVP-Meal-Choices-Song-Requests-and-Sub-Events (Oct 13, 2026)
- Vow&Kin pricing: https://vowandkin.com/en/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Vow&Kin features, designs, RSVP: https://vowandkin.com/en, https://vowandkin.com/en/designs, https://vowandkin.com/en/wedding-rsvp-guest-management (Oct 13, 2026)
- Joy pricing: https://withjoy.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Joy wedding website and FAQ: https://withjoy.com/wedding-website/?l=en-CA, https://withjoy.com/faq/ (Oct 13, 2026)
- Zola wedding website: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/website (Oct 14, 2026)
- Zola paper invitations: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/invitations (Oct 14, 2026)
- The Knot wedding websites: https://www.theknot.com/gs/wedding-websites (Oct 14, 2026)
- The Knot guest list and RSVP: https://www.theknot.com/our-guest-list (Oct 13, 2026)
- Paperless Post pricing: https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
