Updated How we compare
Greenvelope alternatives for digital wedding invitations (2026)
Short answer: Greenvelope is a solid choice if you want an animated envelope, a personalized link per guest and no ads, for a one-time price by guest count ($99 for up to 100 guests). Pick an alternative when you need what it doesn't document:
- Separate events per household, per-person RSVPs and invitations in each family's language: Vow&Kin ($119 one-time on Complete).
- A free website, registry and invitations in one place: Joy ($0 core plan).
- A registry and website, with paper invitations: Zola or The Knot.
- A design-led envelope and liner for a small list: Paperless Post (free for the first 50 sends).
Why couples look beyond Greenvelope
On its own pages Greenvelope documents a personalized link per guest, RSVP survey questions for meal choices and sub-events, reminders, export and a no-ads statement. The gaps are:
- No wedding website or registry.
- Sub-events are a checkbox on one invitation, not separate invitations per household.
- Guest-facing languages and data location are not stated.
- Its pricing page lists tiers without dollar amounts today; the amounts are in a separate pricing guide.
How we scored
Same seven criteria and same scores as our US comparison of digital wedding invitations: 0–10 per criterion, weighted to 100. Only features documented on the provider's own site count; the rest is "not stated".
| # | Criterion | Weight | What earns points |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Personal guest experience | 20 | Private link per household or guest, greeting by name, only their events, no account or app |
| 2 | RSVP depth | 20 | Per person and per event, meals, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, export |
| 3 | Multilingual and international families | 15 | Guest-facing languages, language per household |
| 4 | Price clarity and total cost | 15 | Model, total for 100 guests, free tier, no surprise renewals |
| 5 | Design and opening experience | 10 | Design quality, animated opening or envelope, matching Save the Date |
| 6 | Privacy and data | 10 | Private or password links, no ads to guests, stated data location |
| 7 | Planning extras | 10 | Save the Date, reminders, seating, import/export, registry, photos |
The alternatives, ranked
| Service | Guest experience (20) | RSVP (20) | Languages (15) | Price (15) | Design (10) | Privacy (10) | Extras (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vow&Kin | 10 | 10 | 9 | 8 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 90.5 |
| Joy | 7 | 8 | 4 | 9 | 6 | 6 | 8 | 69.5 |
| Greenvelope (reference) | 6 | 7 | 1 | 7 | 8 | 7 | 5 | 58 |
| Zola | 3 | 7 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 5 | 8 | 51.5 |
| The Knot | 2 | 6 | 1 | 8 | 5 | 4 | 8 | 46.5 |
| Paperless Post | 4 | 5 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 6 | 4 | 45 |
Greenvelope scores higher than Paperless Post, The Knot and Zola on these criteria. If one of those three is your alternative, you are trading invitation features for a free website and registry, or for design.
1. Vow&Kin
Best for: multi-event weddings, multilingual families and couples who need per-person meal data.
Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): One-time per wedding, no subscription: Free (build, preview and publish a Save the Date), Signature $59, Complete $119, Concierge $349 (set up by the team). Charged in dollars for US visitors.
Versus Greenvelope: each household gets its own unlisted link, and on Complete sees only the events it's invited to, instead of a sub-event checkbox. RSVPs are per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, children by age group and a kitchen summary. Invitations in 40+ languages on Complete (two on Signature). Nine designs with animated openings (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon, or a glide into a painted scene). Guest data stored in the EU (Ireland).
Where Greenvelope is better: a stated no-ads policy, 500 text messages included, and a cheaper tier for small lists ($59 for up to 60 guests vs $119 for Complete). Vow&Kin's free plan doesn't publish the invitation.
2. Joy
Best for: couples who want invitations, website, registry and app for free.
Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Core plan $0, including "hundreds of digital invites", online RSVP and a registry. Custom domain, text messaging and premium designs are paid upgrades; prices not stated.
Versus Greenvelope: adds a website, registry and app, and shows each guest only their events. Unlimited custom RSVP questions. Missing: guests find their invitation by name on the website; languages are versions you write yourself; animated envelope not stated.
3. Zola
Best for: a free website and registry with paper invitations.
Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Website free; custom domain from $17.99; free digital Save the Dates; paper invitations from $1.07 each on sale.
Versus Greenvelope: registry and 600+ templates. Missing: we found no digital wedding invitation product on Zola's pages; per-household links and languages not stated.
4. The Knot
Best for: a free guest list manager with matching paper stationery.
Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Website and guest list tools free; custom domain $19.99 for one year. Free digital save-the-dates.
Versus Greenvelope: RSVP page with events, custom questions, dietary restrictions and vendor export. Missing: no digital invitation product found; per-household links and languages not stated.
5. Paperless Post
Best for: design-led cards for small guest lists.
Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. 100 guests on Premium: $105. First 50 sends free on the free feature set. Pro: $250 a year for 250 guests.
Versus Greenvelope: envelope, liner, backdrop and stamp on Premium, ad-free for guests. Missing: cost rises with each guest; meal choices as a named feature, multi-event RSVP and languages not stated.
Cost for 100 guests (checked Oct 14, 2026)
| Service | Price model | 100 guests, one wedding |
|---|---|---|
| Joy | Free core, upgrades (prices not stated) | $0 |
| Zola | Free website (paper extra) | $0 |
| The Knot | Free website (paper extra) | $0 |
| Paperless Post | Per guest | $0–$144 |
| Greenvelope | One-time by guest count | $99 |
| Vow&Kin | One-time per wedding | $59 (Signature) or $119 (Complete) |
Who should pick what
- You like Greenvelope but need separate invitations for welcome dinner, ceremony and brunch: Vow&Kin Complete.
- You need a website and registry anyway: Joy (free) or Zola. You can still link a Joy or Zola registry from a Vow&Kin invitation.
- Guests from several countries: Vow&Kin Complete; none of the others states guest-facing translation.
- Small guest list, design first: Paperless Post or Greenvelope itself.
- You want to send by text: Greenvelope includes 500 texts with paid accounts. Vow&Kin (from Signature) lets you share each household's personal link with a message by WhatsApp, Viber or text; Joy lists text messaging as a paid upgrade.
FAQ
How much does Greenvelope cost for a wedding?
Its pricing guide (updated September 22, 2026) lists one-time mailings from $19 (up to 20 guests) to $99 (up to 100) and $199 (up to 200). Annual memberships run from $60 to $755 a year. The pricing page itself did not show dollar amounts on October 14, 2026.
Is there a free Greenvelope alternative?
Joy's core plan includes digital invitations and RSVP for $0. Paperless Post's free feature set covers the first 50 sends.
Which alternative also has an animated envelope?
Vow&Kin (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon or painted-scene openings) and Paperless Post (envelope and liner). Joy, Zola and The Knot don't state one.
Does any alternative include a registry?
Joy, Zola and The Knot. Vow&Kin and Greenvelope don't have one; Vow&Kin lets you add a registry link and gift message.
Does Vow&Kin charge per guest?
No. The price is per wedding, one time: $59, $119 or $349.
Sources (features checked October 13, 2026; prices October 14, 2026)
- Greenvelope pricing page: https://www.greenvelope.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Greenvelope pricing guide (last updated Sept 22, 2026): https://www.greenvelope.com/resources/how-much-does-greenvelope-cost (Oct 14, 2026)
- Greenvelope home and FAQ: https://www.greenvelope.com/, https://www.greenvelope.com/faq (Oct 13, 2026)
- Greenvelope RSVP questions and sub-events: https://support.greenvelope.com/hc/en-us/articles/43092437725463-How-to-Add-Custom-Questions-to-a-Wedding-RSVP-Meal-Choices-Song-Requests-and-Sub-Events (Oct 13, 2026)
- Vow&Kin pricing: https://vowandkin.com/en/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Vow&Kin features, designs, RSVP: https://vowandkin.com/en, https://vowandkin.com/en/designs, https://vowandkin.com/en/wedding-rsvp-guest-management (Oct 13, 2026)
- Joy pricing: https://withjoy.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)
- Joy wedding website and FAQ: https://withjoy.com/wedding-website/?l=en-CA, https://withjoy.com/faq/ (Oct 13, 2026)
- Zola wedding website: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/website (Oct 14, 2026)
- Zola paper invitations: https://www.zola.com/wedding-planning/invitations (Oct 14, 2026)
- The Knot wedding websites: https://www.theknot.com/gs/wedding-websites (Oct 14, 2026)
- The Knot guest list and RSVP: https://www.theknot.com/our-guest-list (Oct 13, 2026)
- Paperless Post pricing: https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing (Oct 14, 2026)