1. Wedding Compared
  2. Digital invitations

Updated How we compare

The best Joy (withjoy) alternatives in 2026

Short answer: Joy is hard to beat on price: its core plan is free and includes a website, registry, app and digital invitations. Stay with Joy if a free all-in-one with a registry is what you need. Look elsewhere if you need something Joy doesn't document:

  • A private link per household, per-person RSVPs and invitations translated for each family: Vow&Kin ($119 one-time on Complete).
  • A classic animated envelope with a personalized link per guest: Greenvelope ($99 one-time for up to 100 guests).
  • A free website and registry from another big US brand, with paper invitations: Zola or The Knot.
  • Design-led cards for a small guest list: Paperless Post.

Why couples look for a Joy alternative

Joy documents a lot for free. The gaps people run into are specific:

  • Guests unlock their details by typing their name on the wedding website, not through a private link per household (Joy does include a personalized link when you send invitations through Joy).
  • Multiple languages work by writing each language version yourself and assigning it by guest tag; Joy doesn't translate your content.
  • Upgrade prices (custom domain, text messaging, premium designs) are not stated on the pricing page.
  • An animated envelope opening, guest-list export and data location are not stated on the pages we checked.

If none of these matter to you, Joy is likely the right choice and costs nothing.

How we scored

Each service gets 0–10 points per criterion, weighted to a total out of 100. These are the same criteria and the same scores as in our US comparison of digital wedding invitations. We only credit what a provider documents on its own site. If a feature is not stated, we score it as not offered and write "not stated".

# Criterion Weight What earns points
1 Personal guest experience 20 Private link per household or guest, greeting by name, each household sees only its events, no guest account or app
2 RSVP depth 20 Per-person and per-event answers, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, dashboard, export
3 Multilingual and international families 15 Number of guest-facing languages, language per household
4 Price clarity and total cost 15 One-time vs subscription vs per guest; total for 100 guests; useful free tier; no surprise renewals
5 Design and opening experience 10 Design quality, animated opening or envelope, Save the Date in the same design
6 Privacy and data 10 Private or password-protected links, no ads to guests, stated data location
7 Planning extras 10 Save the Date, reminders, seating chart, import/export, registry, photo sharing

The alternatives, ranked

Joy itself scores 69.5/100 on these criteria, so an alternative only makes sense if it is stronger on what you care about.

Service Guest experience (20) RSVP (20) Languages (15) Price (15) Design (10) Privacy (10) Extras (10) Total
Vow&Kin 10 10 9 8 9 8 8 90.5
Joy (reference) 7 8 4 9 6 6 8 69.5
Greenvelope 6 7 1 7 8 7 5 58
Zola 3 7 1 8 5 5 8 51.5
The Knot 2 6 1 8 5 4 8 46.5
Paperless Post 4 5 1 5 8 6 4 45

1. Vow&Kin

Best for: multilingual families, multi-event weddings, and couples who want per-person RSVP data for the caterer.

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): One-time per wedding, no subscription. Free (build, preview and publish a Save the Date), Signature $59, Complete $119, Concierge $349 (set up by the team). US visitors are charged in dollars.

What it does that Joy doesn't document: each household gets its own unlisted link that opens addressed to them, in their language, and on Complete shows only the events they're invited to. RSVPs are collected per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, children by age group and a kitchen summary. Invitations come in 40+ languages on Complete (two on Signature). Nine designs with animated openings (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon or a glide into a painted scene). Guest data is stored in the EU (Ireland).

Where Joy is better: Joy is free; Vow&Kin's free plan only publishes a Save the Date. Vow&Kin has no registry of its own (you add a registry link and gift message), no app, and only nine designs.

Visit Vow&Kin

2. Greenvelope

Best for: couples who want a classic animated envelope and a personalized link per guest, with no ads.

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): One-time by guest count, no subscription, from $19; Greenvelope's pricing guide lists $99 for up to 100 guests. Annual memberships from $60 a year. Free trial for up to 10 recipients; 500 text messages included with paid accounts.

Good: personalized link per guest, RSVP questions for meals and sub-events, scheduled reminders, CSV/Excel export, and a statement that it shows no ads to you or your guests.

Missing: no wedding website or registry, sub-events are a checkbox on one invitation, languages and data location not stated.

Visit Greenvelope

3. Zola

Best for: couples who want a free website and registry and plan to send paper invitations.

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Website free; custom domain from $17.99. Free digital Save the Dates. Paper invitations from $1.07 each on sale.

Good: 600+ website templates, integrated registry, event-specific invitations to the website, meal-preference breakdowns.

Missing: we found no digital wedding invitation product on Zola's own pages, only digital Save the Dates and paper. Private per-household links and languages: not stated.

Visit Zola

4. The Knot

Best for: a free guest list manager and matching paper stationery from a large wedding brand.

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Website and guest list tools free; custom domain $19.99 for one year ($39.98 for two). Free digital save-the-dates.

Good: RSVP page with events and custom questions, dietary restrictions, quick reminders, export for vendors, 100+ designs.

Missing: no digital invitation product found; per-household links and languages not stated.

Visit The Knot

5. Paperless Post

Best for: design-led invitations for a small guest list.

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026): Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. For 100 guests: $0–$144. First 50 sends free on the free feature set. Pro: $250 a year for 250 guests.

Good: envelope, liner and backdrop on Premium, open and RSVP tracking, guest questions, ad-free for guests.

Missing: cost rises with the guest list; meal choices as a named feature, multi-event RSVP, registry and languages not stated.

Not ranked: Minted offers free wedding websites with RSVP and a $50 stationery credit, but its pages don't describe a digital wedding invitation with RSVP, so we couldn't score it like the others.

Visit Paperless Post

Who should pick what

  • You want to stay free and keep a registry: stay with Joy, or choose Zola. Both include a registry; Vow&Kin, Greenvelope and Paperless Post don't.
  • Your families speak different languages: Vow&Kin Complete, where each household opens the invitation in its own language.
  • Welcome dinner, ceremony and brunch with different guest lists: Vow&Kin Complete or Joy. Both show each guest only their events; Vow&Kin adds a private link per household and per-person answers.
  • You want the envelope moment: Greenvelope or Vow&Kin. Paperless Post too, if your list is small.
  • 200+ guests on a tight budget: Joy, Zola or The Knot. Avoid per-guest pricing.

FAQ

Is Joy really free?

Its pricing page shows a $0 core plan with website, registry, app, unlimited guests, online RSVP and "hundreds of digital invites". Custom domain, text messaging and premium designs are paid upgrades whose prices aren't stated on that page.

What is the closest free alternative to Joy?

Zola and The Knot, which both offer free websites with RSVP and free digital Save the Dates. Neither documents a digital wedding invitation product.

Can I use Joy for the registry and another service for invitations?

Yes. Vow&Kin, Greenvelope and Paperless Post let you link to a registry kept elsewhere, so many couples combine a Joy or Zola registry with a separate invitation.

Do guests need an account or app?

Not on Vow&Kin or Joy; both say guests reply without an account. The other services don't state a requirement either way.

Does Vow&Kin have a subscription?

No. Paid plans are one-time per wedding ($59, $119 or $349), and published invitations stay online with no time limit for as long as Vow&Kin operates.

Sources (features checked October 13, 2026; prices October 14, 2026)