1. Wedding Compared
  2. United States

Updated How we scored

The Best Digital Wedding Invitations with RSVP in 2026

Our pick No. 1 of 6

Vow&Kin

Free to build and preview · Signature $59 or Complete $119, one-time, no subscription

Visit Vow&Kin

Full refund of any plan within 14 days of purchase, no questions asked. · vowandkin.com

Best forMultilingual families, multi-event weddings, and couples who want per-person RSVP data for the caterer.

  • Each household gets its own unlisted link that opens addressed to them by name, in their language, showing only their invited events.
  • RSVP is collected per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs, plus-ones and your own questions.
  • Signature publishes in two languages; Complete and Concierge in 40+.
  • What's missing: No registry of its own (you add a registry link and gift message).
Full review and score breakdown

Price (checked Oct 14, 2026)

One-time per wedding, no subscription. Free (build, preview and publish a Save the Date), Signature $59 (publish the invitation, RSVP, custom questions, household links, CSV export), Complete $119 (different events per household, 40+ languages, kitchen summary of menu choices, reminder emails, seating chart), Concierge $349 (set up by the team). Published invitations stay online with no time limit for as long as Vow&Kin operates, and a published money-back guarantee gives a full refund of any plan within 14 days of purchase, no questions asked (policy as of Oct 14, 2026). Visitors in the US see prices in US dollars and are charged in dollars; a currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and pounds.

What's good

  • Each household gets its own unlisted link that opens addressed to them by name, in their language, showing only their invited events. Guests don't need an account or app.
  • RSVP is collected per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs, plus-ones and your own questions. You mark each guest as adult, teen, child or infant, and a children's menu is shown only to children and infants. Exports cover RSVPs, seating and the kitchen.
  • Signature publishes in two languages; Complete and Concierge in 40+.
  • Nine designs with animated openings: a wax-sealed envelope (petal, classic or side fold), a silk ribbon that unties, and a glide into a painted opening scene. The Save the Date grows into the invitation in the same design.
  • Guest data is stored in the EU (Ireland).

What's missing

No registry of its own (you add a registry link and gift message). Only nine designs, far fewer than the big US platforms. The free plan doesn't publish the invitation itself. Events per household, menu summaries, reminder emails and the seating chart need the $119 Complete plan. Text messages only go out where an approved sender is enabled.

How the score breaks down

Personal guest experience10
RSVP depth10
Multilingual and international families9
Price clarity and total cost8
Design and opening experience9
Privacy and data8
Planning extras8

The short answer

Our pick: Vow&Kin, because it gives each household its own private link, shows each household only the events it is invited to, collects RSVPs per person with menu choices and allergies, and translates the invitation into 40+ languages, all for a one-time price with no subscription. US couples pay in dollars: $59 or $119, once, with no subscription. If you want the lowest possible cost plus a registry, pick Joy, which offers its website, RSVP and hundreds of digital invitations free. If you want a classic animated envelope priced in dollars, pick Greenvelope.

Visit Vow&Kin

The ranking

Sorted by total score. Every service is scored on the same criteria.

  1. 2. Joy

    Best forCouples who want everything free, including a registry and an app.

    • Each guest sees a custom version of the site showing only the events they're invited to.
    • Unlimited custom RSVP questions (meal choice, song requests), RSVPs for multiple events, plus-one limits per guest, groups and tags.
    • Save the Dates, invitations, website and app share one design.
    • What's missing: Guests unlock their details by typing their name rather than through a private link.

    Cost for 100 guests $0

    Visit Joy
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked Oct 13, 2026)

    Core plan $0: wedding website, registry, mobile app, unlimited guests, online RSVP and "hundreds of digital invites." Optional paid upgrades (custom domain, text messaging, premium designs) are offered, but prices are not stated on the pricing page.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience7
    RSVP depth8
    Multilingual and international families4
    Price clarity and total cost9
    Design and opening experience6
    Privacy and data6
    Planning extras8

    What's good

    Each guest sees a custom version of the site showing only the events they're invited to. Unlimited custom RSVP questions (meal choice, song requests), RSVPs for multiple events, plus-one limits per guest, groups and tags. Save the Dates, invitations, website and app share one design. Password protection for any page. Guests don't need an account to RSVP.

    What's missing

    Guests unlock their details by typing their name rather than through a private link. Multiple languages are possible, but you write each language version yourself and assign it by guest tag; Joy doesn't translate your content. Upgrade prices aren't published. Animated opening: not stated.

  2. 3. Greenvelope

    Best forCouples who want a classic animated envelope, dollar pricing and no ads.

    • Animated envelope opening and designer invitations.
    • Each guest receives a personalized link.
    • RSVP survey questions cover meal choices and sub-events; plus-ones are tracked; CSV or Excel export.
    • What's missing: No wedding website or registry.

    Cost for 100 guests $99

    Visit Greenvelope
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked Oct 13, 2026)

    Flat one-time price by guest count, no subscription, from $19. Greenvelope's pricing guide lists $99 for up to 100 guests; annual memberships start at $60, and up to 150 guests per mailing costs $225/year. Free trial for up to 10 people. 500 text messages included with paid accounts.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience6
    RSVP depth7
    Multilingual and international families1
    Price clarity and total cost7
    Design and opening experience8
    Privacy and data7
    Planning extras5

    What's good

    Animated envelope opening and designer invitations. Each guest receives a personalized link. RSVP survey questions cover meal choices and sub-events; plus-ones are tracked; CSV or Excel export. Scheduled reminders to parts of your guest list. "Greenvelope shows no ads to you or to your guests," and it says it never sells your guest list.

    What's missing

    No wedding website or registry. Sub-events are a checkbox on one invitation, not separate per-household invitations. Languages: not stated. Data location: not stated.

  3. 4. Zola

    Best forCouples who want a free website and registry and plan to send paper invitations.

    • 600+ website templates, integrated registry, optional password protection.
    • Help-center articles cover choosing who's invited to each event, meal-preference breakdowns, adding families and plus-ones, adult/child counts and guest list export.
    • Free digital Save the Dates link to reply forms and your website.
    • What's missing: We could not find a digital wedding invitation product on Zola's own pages today, only digital Save the Dates and paper invitations.

    Cost for 100 guests $0

    Visit Zola
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked Oct 13, 2026)

    Wedding website free; custom domain from $17.99. Digital Save the Dates are free. Printed invitations from $1.07 each with a discount code (as shown on the invitations page).

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience3
    RSVP depth7
    Multilingual and international families1
    Price clarity and total cost8
    Design and opening experience5
    Privacy and data5
    Planning extras8

    What's good

    600+ website templates, integrated registry, optional password protection. Help-center articles cover choosing who's invited to each event, meal-preference breakdowns, adding families and plus-ones, adult/child counts and guest list export. Free digital Save the Dates link to reply forms and your website.

    What's missing

    We could not find a digital wedding invitation product on Zola's own pages today, only digital Save the Dates and paper invitations. Private per-household links: not stated. Languages: not stated.

  4. 5. The Knot

    Best forCouples who want a free guest list manager and matching paper stationery from a large wedding brand.

    • RSVP page with events, custom questions (such as meal choices) and privacy preferences; guests can share dietary restrictions; quick RSVP reminders; export for vendors.
    • 100+ website designs, most with coordinating invitations, save-the-dates and thank-you cards.
    • Link any registry.
    • What's missing: No digital wedding invitation product found on The Knot's pages today.

    Cost for 100 guests $0

    Visit The Knot
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked Oct 13, 2026)

    Wedding website and guest list tools free; custom domain $19.99 for 1 year. Free digital save-the-dates. Paper save-the-dates from $0.99 each and invitations from $1.59 each.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience2
    RSVP depth6
    Multilingual and international families1
    Price clarity and total cost8
    Design and opening experience5
    Privacy and data4
    Planning extras8

    What's good

    RSVP page with events, custom questions (such as meal choices) and privacy preferences; guests can share dietary restrictions; quick RSVP reminders; export for vendors. 100+ website designs, most with coordinating invitations, save-the-dates and thank-you cards. Link any registry.

    What's missing

    No digital wedding invitation product found on The Knot's pages today. Per-household private links, greeting by name, and what the "privacy preferences" control: not stated. Languages: not stated.

  5. 6. Paperless Post

    Best forDesign-led invitations for small guest lists.

    • Envelope, liner, backdrop and stamp on Premium.
    • Send by email, text or link, track opens and RSVPs, message guests.
    • Open-ended, multiple-choice and checkbox questions (dietary restrictions, mailing addresses).
    • What's missing: Per-guest pricing adds up for large weddings.

    Cost for 100 guests $0–$144

    Visit Paperless Post
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked Oct 13, 2026)

    Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. For 100 guests that's $50 (Basic), $105 (Premium) or $144 (All Access). Free covers the first 50 sends. Paperless Pro subscription: 250 guests for $250/year. Subscriptions are non-refundable.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience4
    RSVP depth5
    Multilingual and international families1
    Price clarity and total cost5
    Design and opening experience8
    Privacy and data6
    Planning extras4

    What's good

    Envelope, liner, backdrop and stamp on Premium. Send by email, text or link, track opens and RSVPs, message guests. Open-ended, multiple-choice and checkbox questions (dietary restrictions, mailing addresses). Ad-free for guests.

    What's missing

    Per-guest pricing adds up for large weddings. Meal-choice questions as a named feature and multi-event RSVP: not stated. No registry. Languages: not stated.

Why Minted isn't ranked: Minted offers free wedding websites with a $50 stationery credit and has launched free Online Invitations, but its online-invitation pages didn't list a wedding category or describe RSVP tools beyond "start collecting RSVPs" when we checked. Minted is a strong choice if artist-designed paper stationery matters most to you.

Make the ranking yours

Our weights are a judgement call. Tell us what matters to you and the ranking re-sorts using the same scores.

Make the ranking yours

Our ranking

  1. 1Vow&Kin90.5
  2. 2Joy69.5
  3. 3Greenvelope58
  4. 4Zola51.5
  5. 5The Knot46.5
  6. 6Paperless Post45

Your #1

Scores at a glance

Each criterion is scored 0–10; the weighted total is out of 100.

Swipe the table sideways to see every service.

ServiceGuest experience (20)RSVP depth (20)Languages (15)Price & cost (15)Design (10)Privacy (10)Extras (10)Total
Vow&Kin10109898890.5
Joy784966869.5
Greenvelope671787558
Zola371855851.5
The Knot261854846.5
Paperless Post451586445

Vow&Kin still loses points on price (the invitation itself needs a paid plan, even now that it charges in dollars): Joy scores higher there, and Zola and The Knot match it, because their core tools are free.

Comparison table

Swipe the table sideways to see every service.

Feature (as documented Oct 13, 2026)Vow&KinJoyGreenvelopeZolaThe KnotPaperless Post
Digital wedding invitationYes (paid plans)Yes, freeYesNot stated (Save the Date only)Not stated (Save the Date only)Yes
Private link per household/guestYesNo (name lookup)YesNot statedNot statedNot stated
Guests see only their eventsYes (Complete)YesNo (checkbox)Event-specific invitesNot statedNot stated
Meal choicesYes (Signature+); kitchen summary on CompleteYesYesYesYesNot stated
Custom questionsYesYesYesYesYesYes (Premium)
Guest-facing languages2 / 40+Self-written versionsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Price modelOne-time (USD)Free + upgradesOne-time by guest countFreeFreePer guest or yearly
Cost for 100 guests$119 (Complete)$0$99$0$0$0–$144
Animated envelopeYesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedEnvelope + liner
No ads to guests (stated)Not statedNot statedYesNot statedNot statedYes
RegistryLink onlyYesNoYesLink any registryNo
Seating chartYes (Complete)Not statedMentioned in FAQNot statedNot statedNot stated

Which one should you choose?

Your families speak different languages

Vow&Kin Complete. Each household gets its own language on its own link. Joy works if you're willing to write each language version yourself.

Big guest list on a tight budget

Joy, Zola or The Knot cost nothing for the core tools. Avoid per-guest pricing (Paperless Post) for 200+ guests.

You want a registry in the same place

Joy or Zola. Vow&Kin and The Knot let you link a registry you keep elsewhere.

You want paper too

Minted, The Knot or Zola, which pair websites with printed stationery. Greenvelope is digital-only.

Multi-day or multi-event wedding (welcome dinner, ceremony, brunch)

Vow&Kin Complete or Joy, both of which show each guest only their events. Zola also lets you choose who's invited to each event.

Visit Vow&Kin Our pick · 90.5/100

How we scored

We scored each service from 0 to 10 on seven criteria and weighted them to a total out of 100. We only credited what the provider documents on its own site (pricing page, feature pages, help center) as of October 13, 2026. If a feature was not stated, we scored it as not offered and wrote "not stated." A service that works in English only gets 1 point for languages.

CriterionWeightWhat earns points
1. Personal guest experience20A private link per household or guest, greeting by name, each household sees only the events it's invited to, no guest account or app needed
2. RSVP depth20Per-person and per-event answers, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, live dashboard, export
3. Multilingual and international families15Number of guest-facing languages, language per household, mixed-language and destination weddings
4. Price clarity and total cost15One-time vs. subscription vs. per-guest pricing; total cost for 100 guests, one wedding, 12 months; usefulness of the free tier; no surprise renewals
5. Design and opening experience10Design quality, animated opening or envelope, Save the Date in the same design
6. Privacy and data10Private or password-protected links, no ads shown to guests, stated data location, clear privacy terms
7. Planning extras10Save the Date, reminders, seating chart, guest list import/export, registry or gift fund, photo sharing

These weights reflect what we think matters most once invitations go out: the right guests seeing the right details and the RSVP data being usable. If price is your only concern, criterion 4 alone points to the free services (Joy, Zola, The Knot).

How we compare and how we are funded

FAQ

Are digital wedding invitations acceptable for a formal wedding?

Many couples now send them, especially for destination weddings or guests abroad. If some older relatives expect paper, you can mail a few printed cards and send everyone else a link.

Can I send digital wedding invitations for free?

Yes. Joy includes digital invitations, website and RSVP at no cost; Paperless Post covers your first 50 sends on its free tier. Zola and The Knot offer free digital Save the Dates and free websites with RSVP. Vow&Kin's free plan publishes a Save the Date, but the invitation itself needs a paid plan.

How far in advance should I send a digital save the date?

Vow&Kin's guidance is about six to eight months ahead for a local wedding and nine to twelve months for a destination wedding or holiday weekend.

Can guests RSVP without creating an account?

On Vow&Kin and Joy, yes: both say guests don't need an account (Vow&Kin also says no app). The other services we reviewed don't state a requirement either way.

Does Vow&Kin charge in US dollars?

Yes. Visitors in the US see and pay prices in dollars: $59 (Signature), $119 (Complete) or $349 (Concierge), as a one-time payment per wedding with no subscription. A currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and pounds, and you're charged in the currency shown.

Which service is best for meal choices and dietary needs?

Vow&Kin (Complete) collects menu choices and allergies per person and produces a kitchen summary. Joy, Zola, The Knot and Greenvelope also support meal-choice questions.

Sources (checked October 13, 2026 unless noted)

Read this page as Markdown

Vow&Kin · 90.5/100Free to build and preview · Signature $59 or Complete $119, one-time, no subscription
Visit Vow&Kin