1. Wedding Compared
  2. United Kingdom

Updated How we scored

The best digital wedding invitations in the UK, compared (2026)

Our pick No. 1 of 6

Vow&Kin

Free to build and preview · Signature £49 or Complete £99, one-off, no subscription

Visit Vow&Kin

Full refund of any plan within 14 days of purchase, no questions asked. · vowandkin.com

Best forUK weddings with separate day and evening guest lists, menu choices to pass to the caterer, or family abroad.

  • Each household gets a private, unlisted link that greets them by name and opens in their language.
  • On Complete, each household sees only the events it's invited to.
  • RSVPs collect attendance per person and per event, menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs and your own questions.
  • What's missing: Splitting day and evening guests, the kitchen summary of menu choices, reminder emails and the seating chart all need Complete (£99), not Signature.
Full review and score breakdown

Price (checked 14 Oct 2026)

Free to build and preview, and a Save the Date can be published on Free. Paid plans are a one-off payment per wedding: Signature £49, Complete £99, Concierge £299 (set up by the Vow&Kin team). No subscription. Published invitations stay online with no time limit for as long as Vow&Kin operates, and a published money-back guarantee gives a full refund of any plan within 14 days of purchase, no questions asked (policy as of 14 Oct 2026). UK visitors see prices in pounds and are charged in GBP; a currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and dollars.

What's good

  • Each household gets a private, unlisted link that greets them by name and opens in their language. Guests don't need an app or account.
  • On Complete, each household sees only the events it's invited to. That's how you invite day guests to the ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening, and evening guests to the evening only.
  • RSVPs collect attendance per person and per event, menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs and your own questions. You mark each guest as adult, teen, child or infant, and a children's menu is shown only to children and infants. You can export RSVP, seating and kitchen CSVs.
  • Invitations come in 40+ languages on Complete (two on Signature). The website itself is in 15 languages.
  • Nine designs with animated openings: a wax-sealed envelope (petal, classic or side fold), a silk ribbon that unties, and a glide into a painted opening scene. The Save the Date uses the same design and grows into the full invitation.
  • Guest data is stored in the EU (Ireland).

What's missing

  • Splitting day and evening guests, the kitchen summary of menu choices, reminder emails and the seating chart all need Complete (£99), not Signature.
  • No built-in gift shop. You add a registry link and gift message.
  • Password protection is not stated.

How the score breaks down

Personal guest experience10
RSVP depth10
Multilingual & international families10
Price clarity & total cost8
Design & opening experience9
Privacy & data8
Planning extras8

The short answer

Our pick: Vow&Kin, because it gives each household its own private link that shows only the parts of the day they're invited to (useful for day and evening guests), and it collects per-person RSVPs with menu choices and allergies, all for a one-off price. One caveat: you need the £99 Complete plan to split day and evening guests. If you want something free or very cheap, Invitea's free plan already covers private household links and starter/main/dessert choices. If you want a gift list and an all-in-one planner, Bridebook or Joy are free and include registries.

Visit Vow&Kin

The ranking

Sorted by total score. Every service is scored on the same criteria.

  1. 2. Joy

    Best forCouples who want a free website, invitations, Save the Dates and a registry in one place, with optional matching paper.

    • Custom RSVP questions (multiple choice, short answer) with follow-up questions, meal and allergy questions, plus-one controls, and "private questions" for selected guests.
    • Private events can be shown only to guests with a matching label.
    • A registry, a mobile app and reminder messages are included.
    • What's missing: Per-guest private links are not stated.

    Cost for 100 guests Free core

    Visit Joy
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked 13 Oct 2026)

    Core plan free (website, RSVP, digital invitations, digital Save the Dates, registry, app, unlimited guests). Optional paid upgrades for a custom domain, text messaging and premium designs, prices not stated on the pricing page. Prices shown in $.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience6
    RSVP depth8
    Multilingual & international families5
    Price clarity & total cost8
    Design & opening experience7
    Privacy & data4
    Planning extras9

    What's good

    • Custom RSVP questions (multiple choice, short answer) with follow-up questions, meal and allergy questions, plus-one controls, and "private questions" for selected guests.
    • Private events can be shown only to guests with a matching label.
    • A registry, a mobile app and reminder messages are included. Paper invitations come in the same designs.

    What's missing

    • Per-guest private links are not stated. Guests RSVP on the wedding website.
    • Multilingual support translates Joy's menus and buttons. You write and assign a separate page for each language yourself.
    • Envelope animation, export and data location are not stated.
  2. 3. Invitea

    Best forA single-event wedding on a tight budget where meal choices matter.

    • The free plan is unusually generous: private links per household, a QR code, an animated opening reveal, an RSVP dashboard, starter/main/dessert choices, dietary totals, per-person plus-ones and accommodation questions.
    • Priced in pounds.
    • Responses and meal totals can be exported for the venue.
    • What's missing: Languages, multiple events, evening-only invitations, reminders, children and custom questions are not stated.

    Cost for 100 guests Free / £9.99 one-off

    Visit Invitea
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked 13 Oct 2026)

    Free. Premium £9.99 one-off per event (adds Save the Date, photos and music). No subscription, no per-guest charges, 30-day money-back guarantee on Premium.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience7
    RSVP depth7
    Multilingual & international families1
    Price clarity & total cost10
    Design & opening experience7
    Privacy & data6
    Planning extras4

    What's good

    • The free plan is unusually generous: private links per household, a QR code, an animated opening reveal, an RSVP dashboard, starter/main/dessert choices, dietary totals, per-person plus-ones and accommodation questions.
    • Priced in pounds. UK company (registered in England and Wales).
    • Responses and meal totals can be exported for the venue.

    What's missing

    • Languages, multiple events, evening-only invitations, reminders, children and custom questions are not stated.
    • Four invitation themes and 11 opening styles. That's a smaller range than most.
    • The privacy policy follows UK GDPR, but says providers may process data in the US, the EU or elsewhere.
  3. 4. Bridebook

    Best forCouples already planning on Bridebook who want a free wedding website with RSVP, a gift list and UK venue tools.

    • Unlimited events, with each guest assigned as All-day or Evening-only.
    • Guests RSVP for their whole party without an app or account.
    • Gift list and cash funds with UK registry partners, plus a free planning app.
    • What's missing: Guests use one shared website link and type their name exactly as it appears on your list.

    Cost for 100 guests Free

    Visit Bridebook
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked 13 Oct 2026)

    Wedding website "100% free". Printed Invites & Paper can be ordered (prices not stated).

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience5
    RSVP depth6
    Multilingual & international families1
    Price clarity & total cost10
    Design & opening experience4
    Privacy & data7
    Planning extras8

    What's good

    • Unlimited events, with each guest assigned as All-day or Evening-only. That's built for UK weddings.
    • Guests RSVP for their whole party without an app or account. Custom RSVP questions and dietary preferences are supported.
    • Gift list and cash funds with UK registry partners, plus a free planning app.
    • The website stays off Google, and you can add an optional 6-digit password.

    What's missing

    • Guests use one shared website link and type their name exactly as it appears on your list. Personal RSVP links are only partly supported.
    • A meal-choice feature, export and guest-facing languages are not stated.
    • It's a website, not an invitation with an opening experience. Invitations and Save the Dates are printed products.
  4. 5. Say I do

    Best forMulti-event weddings that need per-event RSVP questions on a password-protected website.

    • Per-event RSVP.
    • Custom RSVP questions, dietary requirements, and website password protection.
    • The website can be shown in 13 listed languages.
    • What's missing: Guests search for their name on the website.

    Cost for 100 guests Not stated

    Visit Say I do
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked 13 Oct 2026)

    Free option plus paid packages and add-ons (custom domain, local and international SMS). Prices didn't load on the pricing page, and the help centre links back to it, so we can't state them.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience5
    RSVP depth7
    Multilingual & international families6
    Price clarity & total cost3
    Design & opening experience5
    Privacy & data5
    Planning extras4

    What's good

    • Per-event RSVP. Private events are hidden until the guest is identified, and questions can go only to guests invited to a given event (for example, a meal question only for reception guests).
    • Custom RSVP questions, dietary requirements, and website password protection.
    • The website can be shown in 13 listed languages.

    What's missing

    • Guests search for their name on the website. Personal links per party are not described in the help centre.
    • Without visible prices you can't work out the total cost before signing up.
    • Save the Dates, reminders and photo upload appear only in testimonials on the site, so we didn't credit them.
  5. 6. Paperless Post

    Best forDesign-led invitations with envelopes and liners for a smaller guest list.

    • A distinctive envelope, liner and backdrop when guests open the invitation, plus a wide range of Save the Date styles.
    • Premium includes guest questions (multiple choice or checkbox, which suit meal preferences), RSVP tracking, and broadcast messages for reminders.
    • What's missing: Pricing is per guest, so the cost rises with the guest list.

    Cost for 100 guests $0–$144 per send

    Visit Paperless Post
    Full review and score breakdown

    Price (checked 13 Oct 2026, US pricing page, in $)

    Per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. For 100 guests on Premium that's $105. Paperless Pro costs $250 a year for 250 guests. The UK pricing page didn't load, so GBP prices are not stated.

    How the score breaks down

    Personal guest experience6
    RSVP depth5
    Multilingual & international families1
    Price clarity & total cost4
    Design & opening experience8
    Privacy & data3
    Planning extras4

    What's good

    • A distinctive envelope, liner and backdrop when guests open the invitation, plus a wide range of Save the Date styles.
    • Premium includes guest questions (multiple choice or checkbox, which suit meal preferences), RSVP tracking, and broadcast messages for reminders.

    What's missing

    • Pricing is per guest, so the cost rises with the guest list.
    • Not a full website builder. It links out to your wedding website.
    • Per-event invitations, languages and data location are not stated. Password protection is listed only on Pro.

Make the ranking yours

Our weights are a judgement call. Tell us what matters to you and the ranking re-sorts using the same scores.

Make the ranking yours

Our ranking

  1. 1Vow&Kin92
  2. 2Joy67.5
  3. 3Invitea61.5
  4. 4Bridebook57.5
  5. 5Say I do51.5
  6. 6Paperless Post44.5

Your #1

Score breakdown

Swipe the table sideways to see every service.

Criterion (weight)Vow&KinJoyInviteaBridebookSay I doPaperless Post
Personal guest experience (20)1067556
RSVP depth (20)1087675
Multilingual (15)1051161
Price clarity & total cost (15)88101034
Design & opening (10)977458
Privacy & data (10)846753
Planning extras (10)894844
Total /1009267.561.557.551.544.5

Features at a glance

Swipe the table sideways to see every service.

Vow&KinJoyInviteaBridebookSay I doPaperless Post
Private link per householdYes (Signature+)Not statedYes (free)PartlyNot statedIndividual email/text sends
Day vs evening guestsYes (Complete)Private events by labelNot statedYes (All-day / Evening-only)Private per-eventNot stated
Meal choicesYes, kitchen summary on CompleteVia custom questionsYes, starter/main/dessert (free)Not statedVia per-event questionsVia guest questions (Premium)
Dietary / allergiesYesYesYesYesYesNot stated
Guest-facing languages40+ (Complete)Interface only; pages per languageNot statedNot stated13 listedNot stated
Digital Save the DateFreeFreePremiumNot stated (printed cards sold)Not creditedYes
Gift list / registryRegistry link + gift message (Signature+)Built-in registryNot statedGift list + cash fundsNot statedInfo block only
Cost for 100 guests£99 one-off (Complete)Free coreFree / £9.99 one-offFreeNot stated$0–$144 per send
CurrencyGBP (switch to EUR or USD)$GBP(free)Not stated$

Which one should you choose?

Day guests and evening guests on separate invitations

Vow&Kin Complete shows each household only its own events through a private link. Bridebook does the All-day/Evening-only split for free, but on a shared website where guests type their name.

Big guest list, small budget

Invitea's free plan or Bridebook's free website. Both avoid per-guest fees. Paperless Post's per-guest pricing adds up fastest.

You want a gift list

Bridebook (UK registry partners) or Joy (built-in registry). Vow&Kin only links to an external registry or gift fund.

You want paper too

Joy offers matching paper. Bridebook sells printed invitations and Save the Dates.

Family abroad or a bilingual wedding

Vow&Kin lets each household open the invitation in its own language (40+ on Complete). Say I do lists 13 website languages.

Visit Vow&Kin Our pick · 92/100

How we scored

We gave each service a score from 0 to 10 for each of seven criteria, then weighted the scores to a total out of 100. We only gave credit for features the provider documents on its own pricing page, feature pages or help centre. If something wasn't stated, we scored it as not offered and wrote "not stated". Customer testimonials don't count as documentation.

CriterionWeightWhat earns points
1. Personal guest experience20A private link per household or guest, greeting by name, each household sees only the events it's invited to, works without guest accounts or apps
2. RSVP depth20Per-person and per-event answers, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, live dashboard, export
3. Multilingual & international families15Number of guest-facing languages, per-household language, mixed-language and destination weddings
4. Price clarity & total cost15One-off vs subscription vs per-guest pricing; total for 100 guests, one wedding, 12 months; how useful the free tier is; no surprise renewals
5. Design & opening experience10Design quality, animated opening or envelope, Save the Date in the same design
6. Privacy & data10Password or private links, no ads to guests, where data is hosted, clear data-protection terms
7. Planning extras10Save the Date, reminders, seating plan, guest list import/export, registry or gift fund, photo sharing

Free tiers, gift lists, paper stationery and size are real advantages for some couples. We credit them under criteria 4 and 7 and in each "best for" line.

How we compare and how we are funded

FAQ

Are digital wedding invitations acceptable in the UK?

More and more couples use them, especially for Save the Dates and evening invitations. If older relatives prefer paper, you can print a few and add a QR code that links to the online RSVP. Vow&Kin, Invitea and others offer QR sharing.

How do I invite some guests to the evening only?

You need a service that lets you assign guests to events. On Bridebook you choose All-day or Evening-only for each guest. On Vow&Kin Complete, each household's private link shows only its events. Joy and Say I do can hide private events from guests who aren't invited to them.

Can guests choose their wedding breakfast meal online?

Yes, on several services. Invitea has a built-in starter/main/dessert choice on its free plan. Vow&Kin collects menu choices and produces a kitchen summary on Complete. Joy, Say I do and Paperless Post let you build a meal question yourself.

Do guests need to download an app or create an account?

Not on Vow&Kin, Invitea or Bridebook, whose pages state guests reply in the browser. The other services describe RSVPs on a website but don't explicitly address accounts.

Does Vow&Kin charge in pounds?

Yes. UK visitors see and pay prices in GBP: £49 (Signature), £99 (Complete) or £299 (Concierge), a one-off payment per wedding with no subscription. A currency switch on the pricing page and before checkout also offers euros and dollars, and you're charged in the currency shown.

When should I send a digital Save the Date?

Vow&Kin's guidance is six to eight months ahead for a wedding close to home, and nine to twelve months for a destination wedding or a bank holiday weekend.

Sources (checked 13 October 2026 unless noted)

Read this page as Markdown

Vow&Kin · 92/100Free to build and preview · Signature £49 or Complete £99, one-off, no subscription
Visit Vow&Kin