Updated How we compare
Invitea alternatives for UK weddings (2026)
Short answer: for a single-event wedding on a tight budget, Invitea may already be the right choice. Its free plan includes private household links, an animated reveal and starter/main/dessert choices, and Premium is £9.99 one-off. Consider an alternative if you need:
- Day and evening guests on separate invitations, per-person RSVPs and family abroad: Vow&Kin (£99 one-off on Complete).
- A free website with All-day / Evening-only guests and a UK gift list: Bridebook.
- A free all-in-one with a built-in registry and app: Joy.
- Per-event RSVP questions on a password-protected website: Say I do (prices not shown).
- Design-led envelopes and liners for a small list: Paperless Post (priced per guest in dollars).
What Invitea does well, and where it stops
Invitea's home page lists, on the free plan: private guest links, a QR code, an animated opening reveal, RSVP tracking, meal choices, dietary requirements, plus-one details, accommodation questions and a response dashboard. Premium (£9.99 one-off per event) adds a Save the Date, photos and music. There are no per-guest fees and a 30-day money-back guarantee on Premium.
What the site doesn't state: guest-facing languages, how multiple events or evening-only invitations work, reminders to guests, children and custom questions. It offers four invitation themes and 11 opening styles. Its privacy policy follows UK GDPR but says providers may process data in the US, the EU or elsewhere.
How we scored
Same seven criteria and same scores as our UK comparison of digital wedding invitations: 0–10 per criterion, weighted to 100. Only features documented on the provider's own site count; anything else is "not stated". Testimonials don't count as documentation.
| # | Criterion | Weight | What earns points |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Personal guest experience | 20 | Private link per household, greeting by name, each household sees only its events, no account or app |
| 2 | RSVP depth | 20 | Per person and per event, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, export |
| 3 | Multilingual & international families | 15 | Guest-facing languages, language per household |
| 4 | Price clarity & total cost | 15 | One-off vs subscription vs per guest; total for 100 guests; free tier; no surprise renewals |
| 5 | Design & opening experience | 10 | Design range, animated opening, Save the Date in the same design |
| 6 | Privacy & data | 10 | Private or password links, no ads to guests, where data is hosted |
| 7 | Planning extras | 10 | Save the Date, reminders, seating plan, import/export, gift list, photos |
The alternatives, ranked
| Service | Guest experience (20) | RSVP (20) | Languages (15) | Price (15) | Design (10) | Privacy (10) | Extras (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vow&Kin | 10 | 10 | 10 | 8 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 92 |
| Joy | 6 | 8 | 5 | 8 | 7 | 4 | 9 | 67.5 |
| Invitea (reference) | 7 | 7 | 1 | 10 | 7 | 6 | 4 | 61.5 |
| Bridebook | 5 | 6 | 1 | 10 | 4 | 7 | 8 | 57.5 |
| Say I do | 5 | 7 | 6 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 51.5 |
| Paperless Post | 6 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 8 | 3 | 4 | 44.5 |
Invitea scores the full 10 on price, more than any alternative except Bridebook. Bridebook, Say I do and Paperless Post score lower than Invitea overall: pick them for a specific feature, not as an upgrade.
1. Vow&Kin
Best for: separate day and evening guest lists, menu choices for the caterer, family abroad.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): one-off per wedding, no subscription: Free (build, preview, publish a Save the Date), Signature £49, Complete £99, Concierge £299 (set up by the team). Charged in GBP for UK visitors.
Versus Invitea: on Complete each household's private link shows only its events, so day guests see the ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening, and evening guests see the evening only. RSVPs are per person and per event, with menu choices, allergies, accessibility needs, your own questions, and children by age group with a children's menu. Reminder emails, a seating chart and a kitchen summary on Complete. 40+ invitation languages (two on Signature). Nine designs with animated openings. Guest data stored in the EU (Ireland).
Where Invitea is better: price. Invitea's free plan already publishes an invitation with RSVP and meal choices; Vow&Kin's free plan only publishes a Save the Date, and the day/evening split needs £99.
2. Joy
Best for: a free website, invitations, Save the Dates and registry in one place.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): core plan free; custom domain, text messaging and premium designs are paid upgrades, prices not stated. Prices shown in $.
Versus Invitea: adds a registry, app, reminder messages and private events shown only to guests with a matching label. Custom and follow-up RSVP questions. Missing: per-guest private links not stated; languages are pages you write yourself; export and data location not stated.
3. Bridebook
Best for: couples already planning on Bridebook who want a free website with a UK gift list.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): wedding website "100% free"; no paid tier stated on the page.
Versus Invitea: unlimited events with each guest set as All-day or Evening-only, gift list and cash funds, optional 6-digit password, site kept off Google. Missing: guests use one shared link and type their name; meal-choice feature, export and languages not stated; no opening experience.
4. Say I do
Best for: multi-event weddings that need per-event questions.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): free option plus paid upgrades and SMS and domain add-ons; the pricing page showed no prices, so we can't state them.
Versus Invitea: per-event RSVP, questions only for guests invited to a given event, website in 13 listed languages, password protection. Missing: guests search for their name; personal links per party not described in the help centre; no visible prices.
5. Paperless Post
Best for: design-led envelopes and liners for a small guest list.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026, US page, in $): per guest: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44; 100 guests on Premium $105. GBP prices: not stated / check (the UK pricing page didn't load).
Versus Invitea: distinctive envelope and liner, guest questions on Premium, broadcast messages. Missing: cost rises per guest; per-event invitations, languages and data location not stated.
Who should pick what
- One event, 100 guests, smallest budget: stay with Invitea (free, or £9.99 for Premium).
- Day guests and evening guests: Vow&Kin Complete (private link per household) or Bridebook (free, shared website link).
- Family abroad or a bilingual wedding: Vow&Kin, 40+ invitation languages on Complete. Say I do lists 13 website languages.
- You want a gift list: Bridebook (UK registry partners) or Joy (built-in registry).
- You want reminders sent for you: Vow&Kin Complete (reminder emails) or Joy (reminder messages).
FAQ
Is Invitea free?
Yes, the free plan publishes an invitation with private guest links, RSVP and meal choices. Premium is £9.99 one-off per event and adds a Save the Date, photos and music. On 14 October 2026 Invitea also showed a first-24-hours offer of £4.99.
Can Invitea handle evening guests?
Its site doesn't say how multiple events or evening-only invitations work. Premium is priced "per event", so check with Invitea before you buy.
Which alternative is cheapest?
Bridebook and Joy are free. Vow&Kin costs £49 (Signature) or £99 (Complete), one-off.
Do guests need an app or account?
Not on Vow&Kin, Invitea or Bridebook, whose pages say guests reply in the browser.
Does Vow&Kin charge in pounds?
Yes. UK visitors see and pay £49, £99 or £299, one-off per wedding; a switch on the pricing page and at checkout also offers euros and dollars.
Sources (features checked 13 October 2026; prices 14 October 2026)
- Invitea home and pricing: https://invitea.co (14 Oct 2026)
- Invitea privacy policy: https://www.invitea.co/privacy (13 Oct 2026)
- Vow&Kin pricing: https://vowandkin.com/en/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Vow&Kin features, designs, RSVP: https://vowandkin.com/en, https://vowandkin.com/en/designs, https://vowandkin.com/en/wedding-rsvp-guest-management (13 Oct 2026)
- Joy pricing: https://withjoy.com/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Joy online RSVP: https://withjoy.com/online-rsvp/ (13 Oct 2026)
- Joy multiple languages: https://withjoy.com/help/en/articles/16145121-setting-up-your-website-for-guests-in-multiple-languages (13 Oct 2026)
- Bridebook wedding website: https://bridebook.com/uk/website (14 Oct 2026)
- Bridebook RSVPs and events guide: https://support.bridebook.com/en/support/your-complete-guide-to-rsvps-and-events (13 Oct 2026)
- Say I do pricing (prices not displayed): https://sayi.do/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Say I do per-event RSVP: https://help.sayi.do/article/7-invite-guests-to-specific-events (13 Oct 2026)
- Paperless Post pricing: https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing (14 Oct 2026)