Updated How we compare
Paperless Post alternatives for UK weddings (2026)
Short answer: Paperless Post is strong on design: envelopes, liners and backdrops. For a UK wedding, three things push couples elsewhere: it charges per guest, its pricing page shows dollars, and per-event invitations aren't stated. The best alternative depends on what you need:
- Day and evening guests, per-person menu choices, family abroad: Vow&Kin (£99 one-off on Complete).
- Cheapest with meal choices and private household links: Invitea (free; Premium £9.99 one-off).
- Free website with All-day / Evening-only guests and a UK gift list: Bridebook.
- Free all-in-one with a registry and app: Joy.
- Per-event RSVP questions on a password-protected website: Say I do.
If you have a small guest list and the envelope design matters most, Paperless Post itself may still be the right choice.
What Paperless Post costs (checked 14 Oct 2026)
The US pricing page lists per-guest prices: Free $0, Basic $0.50, Premium $1.05, All Access $1.44. The first 50 sends are free on the free feature set. Paperless Pro costs $250 a year for 250 guests ($400 for 500). For 100 guests on Premium that's $105. GBP prices: not stated / check, because the UK pricing page didn't load on 13 or 14 October.
How we scored
Same seven criteria and same scores as our UK comparison of digital wedding invitations: 0–10 per criterion, weighted to 100. Only features documented on the provider's own site count; the rest is "not stated".
| # | Criterion | Weight | What earns points |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Personal guest experience | 20 | Private link per household, greeting by name, each household sees only its events, no account or app |
| 2 | RSVP depth | 20 | Per person and per event, meal choices, dietary notes, custom questions, plus-ones and children, export |
| 3 | Multilingual & international families | 15 | Guest-facing languages, language per household |
| 4 | Price clarity & total cost | 15 | One-off vs subscription vs per guest; total for 100 guests; free tier; no surprise renewals |
| 5 | Design & opening experience | 10 | Design range, animated opening, Save the Date in the same design |
| 6 | Privacy & data | 10 | Private or password links, no ads to guests, where data is hosted |
| 7 | Planning extras | 10 | Save the Date, reminders, seating plan, import/export, gift list, photos |
The alternatives, ranked
| Service | Guest experience (20) | RSVP (20) | Languages (15) | Price (15) | Design (10) | Privacy (10) | Extras (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vow&Kin | 10 | 10 | 10 | 8 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 92 |
| Joy | 6 | 8 | 5 | 8 | 7 | 4 | 9 | 67.5 |
| Invitea | 7 | 7 | 1 | 10 | 7 | 6 | 4 | 61.5 |
| Bridebook | 5 | 6 | 1 | 10 | 4 | 7 | 8 | 57.5 |
| Say I do | 5 | 7 | 6 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 51.5 |
| Paperless Post (reference) | 6 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 8 | 3 | 4 | 44.5 |
Paperless Post scores 8 for design, behind only Vow&Kin (9) in this group. It loses most on price model and RSVP depth.
1. Vow&Kin
Best for: UK weddings with separate day and evening guest lists, menu choices for the caterer, or family abroad.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): one-off per wedding, no subscription, no per-guest fee: Free (build, preview, publish a Save the Date), Signature £49, Complete £99, Concierge £299 (set up by the team). Charged in GBP for UK visitors.
Versus Paperless Post: each household gets a private link that greets them by name and, on Complete, shows only their events. RSVPs per person and per event with menu choices, allergies, children by age group, a kitchen summary and CSV exports. 40+ invitation languages on Complete. Nine designs with animated openings (wax-sealed envelope, silk ribbon, painted scene). Guest data stored in the EU (Ireland).
Where Paperless Post is better: a wide range of card and Save the Date styles (Vow&Kin has nine designs), and a free option for up to 50 sends. Vow&Kin's free plan only publishes a Save the Date.
2. Joy
Best for: a free website, invitations, Save the Dates and registry in one place, with optional matching paper.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): core plan free; custom domain, text messaging and premium designs are paid upgrades, prices not stated. Prices shown in $.
Versus Paperless Post: free for any guest count, with a registry, app, reminders and private events shown only to labelled guests. Missing: per-guest private links not stated; languages are pages you write yourself; envelope animation and data location not stated.
3. Invitea
Best for: a single-event wedding on a tight budget where meal choices matter.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): free; Premium £9.99 one-off per event, no per-guest charges, 30-day money-back on Premium.
Versus Paperless Post: priced in pounds, private household links, QR code, animated reveal and starter/main/dessert choices on the free plan. Missing: languages, multiple events, evening-only invitations and reminders not stated; four themes.
4. Bridebook
Best for: couples planning on Bridebook who want a free website with a gift list.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): wedding website "100% free".
Versus Paperless Post: each guest set as All-day or Evening-only, gift list and cash funds, optional 6-digit password. Missing: one shared link where guests type their name; meal-choice feature and languages not stated; no opening experience.
5. Say I do
Best for: multi-event weddings with per-event questions.
Price (checked 14 Oct 2026): free option plus paid upgrades; no prices shown on the pricing page.
Versus Paperless Post: per-event RSVP, questions only for guests of a given event, 13 listed website languages. Missing: name search instead of personal links; no visible prices.
Cost for 100 guests, one wedding (checked 14 Oct 2026)
| Service | Price model | 100 guests |
|---|---|---|
| Bridebook | Free website | £0 |
| Joy | Free core, upgrades (prices not stated) | $0 |
| Invitea | Free / one-off per event | £0 or £9.99 |
| Vow&Kin | One-off per wedding | £49 (Signature) or £99 (Complete) |
| Paperless Post | Per guest, in $ | $0–$144 |
| Say I do | Free + upgrades | Not stated |
Who should pick what
- Day guests and evening guests: Vow&Kin Complete (private link per household) or Bridebook (free, shared link).
- You only want to pay once, in pounds: Vow&Kin or Invitea.
- Big guest list, small budget: Bridebook or Invitea's free plan. Per-guest pricing adds up fastest on Paperless Post.
- Family abroad: Vow&Kin (40+ invitation languages on Complete) or Say I do (13 website languages).
- You want paper too: Joy offers matching paper; Bridebook sells printed invitations.
- Small list, design comes first: Paperless Post.
FAQ
Is Paperless Post free for weddings?
The free feature set covers the first 50 sends. Above that, or for Premium features like envelopes and guest questions, you pay per guest ($1.05 each on Premium).
Does Paperless Post charge in pounds?
We couldn't confirm it: the UK pricing page didn't load when we checked, and the US page lists dollars.
Which alternative has the best design?
On our criteria Vow&Kin scores 9 and Paperless Post 8; Joy and Invitea score 7. Design is personal, so look at each service's designs before you choose.
Can I invite evening guests separately?
Yes on Vow&Kin Complete (separate events per household) and Bridebook (All-day or Evening-only per guest). Joy and Say I do can hide private events from guests who aren't invited.
Does Vow&Kin have per-guest fees?
No. It is one price per wedding: £49, £99 or £299.
Sources (features checked 13 October 2026; prices 14 October 2026)
- Paperless Post pricing (US page): https://www.paperlesspost.com/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Paperless Post UK pricing page (did not load): https://www.paperlesspost.com/en-gb/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Paperless Post wedding invitations: https://www.paperlesspost.com/wedding (13 Oct 2026)
- Vow&Kin pricing: https://vowandkin.com/en/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Vow&Kin features, designs, RSVP: https://vowandkin.com/en, https://vowandkin.com/en/designs, https://vowandkin.com/en/wedding-rsvp-guest-management (13 Oct 2026)
- Joy pricing: https://withjoy.com/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Joy multiple celebrations: https://withjoy.com/blog/manage-your-wedding-celebrations-with-joy/ (13 Oct 2026)
- Invitea home and pricing: https://invitea.co (14 Oct 2026)
- Bridebook wedding website: https://bridebook.com/uk/website (14 Oct 2026)
- Bridebook RSVPs and events guide: https://support.bridebook.com/en/support/your-complete-guide-to-rsvps-and-events (13 Oct 2026)
- Say I do pricing (prices not displayed): https://sayi.do/pricing (14 Oct 2026)
- Say I do features: https://sayi.do/features (13 Oct 2026)
- Joy, "12 best Paperless Post alternatives" (what ranks today): https://withjoy.com/blog/12-best-paperless-post-alternatives/ (14 Oct 2026)